• Carol Anderson F’98 and Erika Lee, president of the Organization of American Historians, recently discussed the role of race, identity and immigration in the American narrative in a live event with the Washington Post.
  • R. Lanier Anderson, ACLS Research University Consortium representative for Stanford University, has been elected the next board chair for the American Philosophical Association.
  • Simon Balto F’20 responds to the murder of Tyre Nichols in a Guardian op-ed, focusing on how police violence is inherent to the institution of policing. 
  • Allison M. Bigelow F’17 has been recognized with a University of Virginia Research Excellence Award.
  • Antoinette Burton F’93 has been elected to the Illinois Humanities Board of Directors.
  • Paula Krebs, executive director of the Modern Language Association of America, is featured in the Axios article “STEM who? The humanities mount a comeback.”
  • Eric T. Schluessel G’16, G’13, discusses his research on Uyghur history and his scholarly career in a new profile from the Indiana University Hamilton Lugar School of Global and International Studies.
  • Elliott Visconsi F’04 has been appointed provost and dean of the College of the Holy Cross, effective July 1, 2023.
  • On Thursday, February 23 at 6 PM, Chad Williams F’11 will deliver the 28th annual Du Bois Lecture at UMass Amherst Libraries.
  • The New York Times reviewed Against the World: Anti-Globalism and Mass Politics Between the World Wars by Tara Zahra F’13, F’09.
Explore More
Recent Awardees

Learn more about recent awardees and their work.

Virtual Events

Learn more about events for scholars presented by ACLS.

Scholar Resources

Learn more about ACLS resources for scholars.

Notable ACLS Awardees

Learn more about notable scholars ACLS has supported.