Geraldine Heng F’17 delivering a keynote at the RaceB4Race conference at the Folger Institute in September 2019.

ACLS congratulates past fellows, grantees, and ACLS Board Member Michèle Lamont on being elected to the American Academy of Arts & Sciences. We applaud their vital contributions to scholarship and public understanding of humanity and human endeavors.

The American Academy of Arts and Sciences is one of the founding scholarly societies of the American Council of Learned Societies, and has been a part of our history since 1919. Founded in 1780, the Academy honors exceptional individuals in a variety of fields and convenes these leaders to advance new ideas and address important issues toward the public good. Members include some of the most accomplished voices in the arts and humanities, social policy, education, global affairs, and science and technology. ACLS President Joy Connolly was elected to the Academy in April 2021.

The 2023 new members include:

  • Lila Abu-Lughod F’07
  • Linda Martin Alcoff F’90
  • Jean M. Allman F’14
  • Derrick Darby F’15
  • Catherine Z. Elgin F’84
  • David D. Hall G’81
  • Geraldine Heng F’17
  • Michèle Lamont, member of the ACLS Board of Directors
  • Nelson Lichtenstein G’80
  • Vasudha Narayanan F’04
  • Thomas G. Palaima F’83
  • Krista Thompson F’12
  • James Van Cleve F’80

Related News