ACLS: Advancing the Humanities

  • PY_with_logo

    See the collection of talks by ACLS President Pauline Yu. 

  • Bulletin

    The first ACLS Bulletin appeared in October 1920, one year after the organization's founding.

  • darwin

    The Darwin Correspondence Project was founded by the late Frederick H. Burkhardt, president emeritus of ACLS. 

ACLS Board of Directors and Committees



ACLS Board of Directors

8x8_orange_sq denotes a member of the Board Executive Committee
8x8_yellow_sq denotes a member of the Investment Committee


Name Affiliation Term Ends
James J. O'Donnell, Chair 6x9_orange_yellow_super Arizona State University 2018
Nicola CourtrightVice Chair 6x9_orange_yellow_super Amherst College 2019
Ann FabianSecretary 6x9_orange_super Rutgers University-New Brunswick, emeritus 2020
William C. Kirby, Treasurer 6x9_orange_yellow_super Harvard University 2020
Peter Baldwin University of California, Los Angeles 2020
Donald Brenneis University of California, Santa Cruz 2019
Jimena Canales University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign 2021
Terry Castle Stanford University 2019
Karl Eikenberry Stanford University 2021
James Grossman (ex officio) American Historical Association 2019
Marwan M. Kraidy University of Pennsylvania 2021
Michele Moody-Adams6x9_orange_super Columbia University 2020
Carl Pforzheimer III6x9_orange_yellow_super CHIPCO Asset Management, LLC 2020
Richard J. Powell Duke University 2020
Katherine Rowe6x9_orange_super Smith College 2018
Elaine Sisman (ex officio)
American Academy of Arts and Sciences 2019
Pauline Yu (ex officio) 6x9_orange_yellow_super ACLS   ---

ACLS Investment Committee


Member Affiliation
Heidi Carter Pearlson, Chair Adamas Partners, LLC
Nicola Courtright Amherst College
Lisa Danzig Roundtable Investment Partners
William C. Kirby Harvard University
Charlotte V. Kuh National Research Council (retired)
Herbert Mann   TIAA-CREF (retired)
James J. O'Donnell   Arizona State University
Carl Pforzheimer III CHIPCO Asset Management, LLC
Carla H. Skodinski Van Beuren Management, Inc.
Daniel L. Stoddard American Museum of Natural History
Pauline Yu ACLS

Westley M. Hays, Advisor

Monticello Associates

Executive Committee of the Delegates

The Committee chair serves ex officio on the ACLS Board of Directors


Name Society Term Ends
Elaine Sisman, Chair American Academy of Arts and Sciences 2019
Barbara Altmann Modern Language Association of America 2018
Constance Backhouse American Society for Legal History 2020
Theodore C. Bestor Association for Asian Studies 2020
Vivian Curran American Society of Comparative Law 2019
David Vander Meulen Bibliographical Society of America 2018
Pamela Robertson Wojcik Society for Cinema and Media Studies 2018

Executive Committee of the Conference of Executive Officers (CEO)

The Committee chair serves ex officio on the ACLS Board of Directors.


Name Society Term Ends
James Grossman, Chair American Historical Association 2019
Amy Ferrer American Philosophical Association 2020
Gerard Hauser Rhetoric Society of America 2019
Lynda Park Association for Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies 2019
Jill Simpson Society for Cinema and Media Studies 2020
Julie Van Camp American Society for Aesthetics 2018
Andrew Vaughn American Schools of Oriental Research 2018