2012 CAO Spring Meeting

The Conference of Administrative Officers (CAO) of the ACLS held its spring meeting at the Society Hill Sheraton Hotel in Philadelphia on Saturday, May 12, 2012, following the ACLS Annual Meeting. CAO Executive Committee Chair Bill Davis, American Anthropological Association, led the meeting.

Davis, also serving as chair of the CAO Nominating Committee, presented the slate of proposed new members for the executive committee. Other nominating committee members were Tim Lloyd, American Folklore Society and Mariana Whitmer, Society for American Music. The nominees, Stephen Stuempfle, Society for Ethnomusicology, and Kent Williamson, College Forum of the National Council of Teachers of English, were elected to serve until spring 2015. They replace outgoing members William E. Davis and Elizabeth Richmond-Garza, American Comparative Literature Association. (Richmond-Garza was unable to complete her term; Stuempfle was elected in 2011 to complete her term.) Continuing on the committee are Jack Fitzmier, American Academy of Religion; Victoria Long, Society for Music Theory; Amy Newhall, Middle East Studies Association of North America; Michael Paschal, Association for Asian Studies; and Pauline Saliga, Society of Architectural Historians. 

ACLS Vice President Steven C. Wheatley reported on plans for a workshop on archiving to be hosted by the Rockefeller Archive Center. Duane Webster, acting executive director of the National Humanities Alliance, provided an overview of NHA's recent advocacy efforts on behalf of the humanities.

A panel discussion on development campaigns offered information useful to the group, especially in these economic times. The panelists were Robert F. Judd, American Musicological Society, and Peter Herdrich, American Institute of Archaeology. Each gave a brief report on their experiences with initiating and maintaining development campaigns.

Ben Ohtsu and Charles Halpin of JUMP AppSolutions gave a presentation on their customized technological solutions. In a post-meeting discussion, Ohtsu and Halpin met with interested CAO members to discuss the possibility of developing IT solutions for processes common to the societies, including fellowship and book award modules.

Outgoing CAO members Alexander Field, Economic History Association, and David Schrader, American Philosophical Association, were thanked for their service to the group and bid a fond farewell.

The next leadership seminar for ACLS member society presidents and chief administrative officers will be held on Monday, September 10, 2012. This year's seminar will once again be led by Katha Kissman.

The group will next convene in Nashville, TN, November 8-11, 2012.