• LSpanel_am2014

    A 2014 annual meeting session focused on "Learned Societies: Members and Missions."

  • AAA_Mullings_Liebow

    Leith Mullings and Edward B. Liebow, representatives of the American Anthropological Association

  • Journals

    ACLS societies foster high-quality, peer-reviewed scholarship in the humanities.

Society Representatives

Loading...

The Delegate is the member of the Council. The Administrative Officer is the society contact.

Click on column titles to sort alphabetically. 

Society NameDelegate NameAdministrative Officer
363e4d14-98a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Suzanne Moyer BaazetExecutive DirectorAfrican Studies Associationsuzanne@africanstudies.orgJudith A. ByfieldCornell Universityjab632@cornell.eduAfrican Studies AssociationByfield, Judith A.Baazet, Suzanne Moyer
08895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Jonathan FantonPresidentAmerican Academy of Arts and Sciencesjfanton@amacad.orgRoger S. BagnallNew York Universityroger.bagnall@nyu.eduAmerican Academy of Arts and SciencesBagnall, Roger S.Fanton, Jonathan
0b895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Jack FitzmierExecutive DirectorAmerican Academy of Religionjfitzmier@aarweb.orgLaurie L. PattonChairDuke Universitylaurie.patton@duke.eduAmerican Academy of ReligionPatton, Laurie L.Fitzmier, Jack
0e895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Edward B. LiebowExecutive DirectorAmerican Anthropological Associationeliebow@aaanet.orgLeith MullingsCity University of New York, The Graduate Centerlmullings@gc.cuny.eduAmerican Anthropological AssociationMullings, LeithLiebow, Edward B.
11895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Paul J. EricksonDirector, Academic ProgramsAmerican Antiquarian Societyperickson@mwa.orgScott E. CasperDeanUniversity of Maryland, Baltimore Countycasper@umbc.eduAmerican Antiquarian SocietyCasper, Scott E.Erickson, Paul J.
5405940b-81a3-db11-a735-000c2903e717Jodi L. KosteSecretary-TreasurerVirginia Commonwealth Universityjlkoste@vcu.eduCaroline HannawayAmerican Association for the History of Medicinechannaway@aol.comAmerican Association for the History of MedicineHannaway, CarolineKoste, Jodi L.
2f895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Alexander Jamieson BeecroftChief Administrative and Financial OfficerUniversity of South CarolinaABeecrof@mailbox.sc.eduYopie PrinsUniversity of Michigan-Ann Arboryprins@umich.eduAmerican Comparative Literature AssociationPrins, YopieBeecroft, Alexander Jamieson
38895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Allan MetcalfExecutive SecretaryMacMurray Collegeamericandialect@mac.eduWilliam A. KretzschmarUniversity of Georgiakretzsch@uga.eduAmerican Dialect SocietyKretzschmar, William A.Metcalf, Allan
3b895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Peter RousseauSecretary-TreasurerVanderbilt Universitypeter.l.rousseau@vanderbilt.eduCharlotte V. KuhNational Academy of SciencesCharlotteKuh@gmail.comAmerican Economic AssociationKuh, Charlotte V.Rousseau, Peter
3e895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Timothy LloydExecutive DirectorAmerican Folklore Societylloyd.100@osu.eduLee HaringCity University of New York, Brooklyn Collegelharing@hvc.rr.comAmerican Folklore SocietyHaring, LeeLloyd, Timothy
41895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717James GrossmanExecutive DirectorAmerican Historical Associationjgrossman@historians.orgGeorge J. SanchezVice DeanUniversity of Southern Californiageorges@usc.eduAmerican Historical AssociationSanchez, George J.Grossman, James
4a895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Robert F. JuddExecutive DirectorAmerican Musicological Societyrjudd@ams-net.orgElaine SismanChairColumbia Universityes53@columbia.eduAmerican Musicological SocietySisman, ElaineJudd, Robert F.
4d895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Ute Wartenberg KaganExecutive DirectorAmerican Numismatic Societyuwk@numismatics.orgKenneth W. HarlTulane Universitymaxthrax@cox.netAmerican Numismatic SocietyHarl, Kenneth W.Wartenberg Kagan, Ute
50895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Jonathan H. RodgersSecretary-TreasurerUniversity of Michigan-Ann Arborjrodgers@umich.eduPaul W. KrollUniversity of Colorado Boulderkroll@Colorado.EDUAmerican Oriental SocietyKroll, Paul W.Rodgers, Jonathan H.
56895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Amy FerrerExecutive DirectorAmerican Philosophical Associationaferrer@udel.eduHenry S. RichardsonGeorgetown Universityrichardh@georgetown.eduAmerican Philosophical AssociationRichardson, Henry S.Ferrer, Amy
59895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Keith Stewart ThomsonExecutive DirectorAmerican Philosophical Societykthomson@amphilsoc.orgJulia Haig GaisserBryn Mawr Collegejgaisser@brynmawr.eduAmerican Philosophical SocietyGaisser, Julia HaigThomson, Keith Stewart
5c895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Steven Rathgeb SmithExecutive DirectorAmerican Political Science Associationsmithsr@apsanet.orgRichard M. ValellySwarthmore Collegervalell1@swarthmore.eduAmerican Political Science AssociationValelly, Richard M.Smith, Steven Rathgeb
65895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Andrew G. VaughnExecutive DirectorAmerican Schools of Oriental Researchasored@bu.eduEric M. MeyersDuke Universityemc@duke.eduAmerican Schools of Oriental ResearchMeyers, Eric M.Vaughn, Andrew G.
68895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Dabney W. TownsendSecretary-TreasurerAmerican Society for Aestheticsdabney.townsend@armstrong.eduPaul GuyerUniversity of Pennsylvaniapguyer@sas.upenn.eduAmerican Society for AestheticsGuyer, PaulTownsend, Dabney W.
6b895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Byron WellsExecutive DirectorWake Forest Universityasecs@wfu.eduJohn B. BenderStanford Universitybender@stanford.eduAmerican Society for Eighteenth-Century StudiesBender, John B.Wells, Byron
563a7c1e-81a3-db11-a735-000c2903e717Lisa MighettoExecutive DirectorAmerican Society for Environmental Historydirector@aseh.netJohn R. McNeillGeorgetown Universitymcneillj@georgetown.eduAmerican Society for Environmental HistoryMcNeill, John R.Mighetto, Lisa
6e895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Craig KlafterTreasurerAmerican Society for Legal Historytreasurer@aslh.netConstance BackhouseUniversity of Ottawaconstance.backhouse@uottawa.caAmerican Society for Legal HistoryBackhouse, ConstanceKlafter, Craig
71895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Ric KnowlesVice PresidentUniversity of Guelph, Canadarknowles@uoguelph.caPatrick AndersonUniversity of California, San Diegopwa@ucsd.eduAmerican Society for Theatre ResearchAnderson, PatrickKnowles, Ric
4a0e4af8-80a3-db11-a735-000c2903e717Keith A. FrancisExecutive SecretaryAmerican Society of Church Historykeith.francis@churchhistory.orgCharles H. LippyUniversity of Tennessee, Chattanoogacharles-lippy@utc.eduAmerican Society of Church HistoryLippy, Charles H.Francis, Keith A.
74895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717James A. R. NafzigerChief Administrative OfficerWillamette Universityjnafzige@willamette.eduJohn C. ReitzUniversity of Iowajohn-reitz@uiowa.eduAmerican Society of Comparative LawReitz, John C.Nafziger, James A. R.
77895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Sheila WardInterim Associate DirectorAmerican Society of International Lawsward@asil.orgGregory C. ShafferUniversity of Minnesotashaffer@umn.eduAmerican Society of International LawShaffer, Gregory C.Ward, Sheila
7a895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Sally T. HillsmanExecutive DirectorAmerican Sociological Associationhillsman@asanet.orgElizabeth HigginbothamUniversity of Delawareehiggin@udel.eduAmerican Sociological AssociationHigginbotham, ElizabethHillsman, Sally T.
7d895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717John F. StephensExecutive DirectorAmerican Studies AssociationJohn.Stephens@theasa.netDavid L. EngUniversity of Pennsylvaniadeng@english.upenn.eduAmerican Studies AssociationEng, David L.Stephens, John F.
a7895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Ann BenbowExecutive DirectorArchaeological Institute of Americaabenbow@aia.bu.eduJ. Theodore PenaUniversity of California, Berkeleytpena@berkeley.eduArchaeological Institute of AmericaPena, J. TheodoreBenbow, Ann
ce895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Michael PaschalExecutive DirectorAssociation for Asian Studiesmpaschal@asian-studies.orgAnand A. YangDirectorUniversity of Washingtonaay@u.washington.eduAssociation for Asian StudiesYang, Anand A.Paschal, Michael
d4895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Rona SheramyExecutive DirectorAssociation for Jewish Studiesrsheramy@ajs.cjh.orgCarol BakhosUniversity of California, Los Angelescbakhos@humnet.ucla.eduAssociation for Jewish StudiesBakhos, CarolSheramy, Rona
1a895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Lynda ParkExecutive DirectorAssociation for Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studieslypark@pitt.eduWilliam G. RosenbergUniversity of Michigan-Ann Arborwgr@umich.eduAssociation for Slavic, East European, and Eurasian StudiesRosenberg, William G.Park, Lynda
d7895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Olavi ArensAcademic Executive DirectorArmstrong Atlantic State UniversityOlavi.Arens@armstrong.eduJanis ChakarsGwynedd Mercy Universitychakars.j@gmercyu.eduAssociation for the Advancement of Baltic StudiesChakars, JanisArens, Olavi
dd895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Douglas RichardsonExecutive DirectorAssociation of American Geographersdrichardson@aag.orgJ. Nicholas EntrikinVice President and Associate ProvostUniversity of Notre DameJ.N.Entrikin@nd.eduAssociation of American GeographersEntrikin, J. NicholasRichardson, Douglas
e0895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Judith AreenExecutive DirectorAssociation of American Law Schoolsjareen@aals.orgLinda S. GreeneUniversity of Wisconsin-Madisonlsgreene@wisc.eduAssociation of American Law SchoolsGreene, Linda S.Areen, Judith
7f8a5c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Michele E. RandallExecutive DirectorBibliographical Society of AmericaBSA@bibsocamer.orgDavid L. Vander MeulenUniversity of Virginiadlv8g@virginia.eduBibliographical Society of AmericaVander Meulen, David L.Randall, Michele E.
5539555d-8673-db11-a735-000c2903e717Linda A. DownsExecutive DirectorCollege Art Associationldowns@collegeart.orgAnne Collins GoodyearBowdoin Collegeagoodyea@bowdoin.eduCollege Art AssociationGoodyear, Anne CollinsDowns, Linda A.
16a44f5c-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Kent WilliamsonExecutive DirectorCollege Forum of the National Council of Teachers of Englishkwilliamson@ncte.orgDoug HesseUniversity of Denverdhesse@du.eduCollege Forum of the National Council of Teachers of EnglishHesse, DougWilliamson, Kent
c1a44f5c-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Rebecca A. ShapiroExecutive SecretaryCity University of New York, New York City College of Technologyrshapiro@citytech.cuny.eduEdward FineganUniversity of Southern CaliforniaFinegan@USC.eduDictionary Society of North AmericaFinegan, EdwardShapiro, Rebecca A.
06a54f5c-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Price FishbackExecutive DirectorUniversity of Arizonapfishback@eller.arizona.eduDaniel RaffUniversity of Pennsylvaniaraff@wharton.upenn.eduEconomic History AssociationRaff, DanielFishback, Price
dba54f5c-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717David E. BarclayExecutive DirectorKalamazoo Collegedirector@thegsa.orgPatricia A. HerminghouseUniversity of Rochesterpahe@rochester.rr.comGerman Studies AssociationHerminghouse, Patricia A.Barclay, David E.
65a64f5c-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Mitchell A. CoddingDirectorHispanic Society of Americacodding@hispanicsociety.orgMitchell A. CoddingDirectorHispanic Society of Americacodding@hispanicsociety.orgHispanic Society of AmericaCodding, Mitchell A.Codding, Mitchell A.
6ba64f5c-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Robert (Jay) J. MaloneExecutive DirectorHistory of Science Societyjay@hssonline.orgMichael M. SokalWorcester Polytechnic Institutemsokal@wpi.eduHistory of Science SocietySokal, Michael M.Malone, Robert (Jay) J.
82b30aff-80a3-db11-a735-000c2903e717Nancy Patterson SevcenkoPresident Independent Scholarnsevcenko8@gmail.comPeter BarnetMetropolitan Museum of Art, The Cloisterspeter.barnet@metmuseum.orgInternational Center of Medieval ArtBarnet, PeterSevcenko, Nancy Patterson
37014862-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Milagros Pereyra-RojasExecutive DirectorUniversity of Pittsburghmilagros@pitt.eduGwen KirkpatrickDirector of Graduate StudiesGeorgetown Universitymgk7@georgetown.eduLatin American Studies AssociationKirkpatrick, GwenPereyra-Rojas, Milagros
40014862-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Susan OlsonExecutive OfficerUniversity of Utaholson@lawandsociety.orgCarol J. GreenhouseChairPrinceton Universitycgreenho@princeton.eduLaw and Society AssociationGreenhouse, Carol J.Olson, Susan
67014862-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Alyson ReedExecutive DirectorLinguistic Society of Americaareed@lsadc.orgSandra ChungUniversity of California, Santa Cruzschung@ucsc.eduLinguistic Society of AmericaChung, SandraReed, Alyson
09024862-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Lisa Fagin DavisActing Executive DirectorMedieval Academy of Americalfd@themedievalacademy.orgNancy PartnerMcGill University, Canadanancy.partner@mcgill.caMedieval Academy of AmericaPartner, NancyDavis, Lisa Fagin
2d024862-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Brian G. HenningSecretary-TreasurerGonzaga Universityhenning@gonzaga.eduMetaphysical Society of AmericaHenning, Brian G.
4e024862-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Amy NewhallExecutive DirectorMiddle East Studies Association of North Americanewhall@u.arizona.eduR. Stephen HumphreysUniversity of California, Santa Barbarahumphreys@history.ucsb.eduMiddle East Studies Association of North AmericaHumphreys, R. StephenNewhall, Amy
81024862-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Rosemary G. FealExecutive DirectorModern Language Association of Americarfeal@mla.orgPriscilla B. WaldDuke Universitypwald@duke.eduModern Language Association of AmericaWald, Priscilla B.Feal, Rosemary G.
05034862-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Nancy KiddExecutive DirectorNational Communication Associationnkidd@natcom.orgKristine MunozUniversity of Iowakristine-fitch@uiowa.eduNational Communication AssociationMunoz, KristineKidd, Nancy
5705940b-81a3-db11-a735-000c2903e717John R. DichtlExecutive DirectorNational Council on Public Historyjdichtl@iupui.eduDavid GlassbergUniversity of Massachusetts Amherstglassberg@history.umass.eduNational Council on Public HistoryGlassberg, DavidDichtl, John R.
ef4ab5cb-ee16-dc11-9d54-000c2903e717Paul R. DeslandesExecutive SecretaryUniversity of Vermontpaul.deslandes@uvm.eduPhilippa J. LevineCo-directorUniversity of Texas at Austinphilippa@austin.utexas.eduNorth American Conference on British StudiesLevine, Philippa J.Deslandes, Paul R.
b157ec10-b4da-e311-9bec-000c29a3451aClifford M. KuhnExecutive DirectorGeorgia State Universityckuhn@gsu.eduAnne ValkAssociate Director for Public HumanitiesWilliams CollegeAnne.Valk@williams.eduOral History AssociationValk, AnneKuhn, Clifford M.
ca5d4068-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Katherine M. FinleyExecutive DirectorOrganization of American Historianskmfinley@oah.orgThomas BenderNew York Universitythomas.bender@nyu.eduOrganization of American HistoriansBender, ThomasFinley, Katherine M.
845e4068-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Ann MoyerExecutive DirectorUniversity of Pennsylvaniaamoyer@rsa.orgJames S. GrubbUniversity of Maryland, Baltimore Countygrubb@umbc.eduRenaissance Society of AmericaGrubb, James S.Moyer, Ann
a08a031b-3c28-dd11-b38e-000c2903e717Gerard A. HauserExecutive DirectorUniversity of Colorado Boulderhauserg@colorado.eduSusan WellsTemple Universitysuewells@temple.eduRhetoric Society of AmericaWells, SusanHauser, Gerard A.
d07233a5-7fa3-db11-a735-000c2903e717Donald J. HarreldExecutive DirectorBrigham Young Universitydonald_harreld@byu.eduKathryn EdwardsUniversity of South Carolinakathrynedwards@sc.eduSixteenth Century Society and ConferenceEdwards, KathrynHarreld, Donald J.
b95f4068-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Mariana WhitmerExecutive DirectorSociety for American Musicsamed@pitt.eduJohn GrazianoCity University of New York, The Graduate Centerjgraziano@gc.cuny.eduSociety for American MusicGraziano, JohnWhitmer, Mariana
bc5f4068-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Jill SimpsonExecutive DirectorSociety for Cinema and Media Studiesjillasimpson@ou.eduPatrice PetroUniversity of Wisconsin-Milwaukeeppetro@uwm.eduSociety for Cinema and Media StudiesPetro, PatriceSimpson, Jill
53895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Adam D. BlisteinExecutive DirectorSociety for Classical Studiesblistein@sas.upenn.eduDee L. ClaymanCity University of New York, The Graduate Centerdclayman@gc.cuny.eduSociety for Classical StudiesClayman, Dee L.Blistein, Adam D.
a31b3b6e-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Stephen StuempfleExecutive DirectorSociety for Ethnomusicologysemexec@indiana.eduBeverly DiamondMemorial University of Newfoundland bdiamond@mun.caSociety for EthnomusicologyDiamond, BeverlyStuempfle, Stephen
a61b3b6e-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Linda ClarkExecutive DirectorCalifornia State University, Long Beachlclark2@csulb.eduBarry H. BergenGallaudet Universitybarry.bergen@gallaudet.eduSociety for French Historical StudiesBergen, Barry H.Clark, Linda
820aee76-d65d-df11-bc5e-000c293a51f7Robert H. BerlinExecutive DirectorSociety for Military Historyrhberlin@aol.comJoseph T. GlatthaarUniversity of North Carolina, Chapel Hilljtg@email.unc.eduSociety for Military HistoryGlatthaar, Joseph T.Berlin, Robert H.
85b30aff-80a3-db11-a735-000c2903e717Victoria L. LongExecutive DirectorSociety for Music Theoryvlong@uchicago.eduEdward JurkowskiAssociate DeanUniversity of Lethbridgejurkowski@uleth.caSociety for Music TheoryJurkowski, EdwardLong, Victoria L.
bbf41a18-81a3-db11-a735-000c2903e717Richard L. JensenSecretary-TreasurerSociety for the Advancement of Scandinavian Studyjensrichard@gmail.comThomas A. DuBoisUniversity of Wisconsin-Madisontadubois@wisc.eduSociety for the Advancement of Scandinavian StudyDuBois, Thomas A.Jensen, Richard L.
a91b3b6e-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717David LucskoSecretarySociety for the History of Technologydnl0006@auburn.eduW. Bernard CarlsonUniversity of Virginiawc4p@Virginia.EDUSociety for the History of TechnologyCarlson, W. BernardLucsko, David
af1b3b6e-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Pauline SaligaExecutive DirectorSociety of Architectural Historianspsaliga@sah.orgSandy IsenstadtDirector of Graduate StudiesUniversity of Delawareisnt@udel.eduSociety of Architectural HistoriansIsenstadt, SandySaliga, Pauline
b21b3b6e-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717John F. KutskoExecutive DirectorSociety of Biblical Literaturejohn.kutsko@sbl-site.orgKent Harold RichardsExecutive DirectorSociety of Biblical Literaturekent.richards@strategypoints.orgSociety of Biblical LiteratureRichards, Kent HaroldKutsko, John F.
b51b3b6e-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Ann Cooper AlbrightExecutive DirectorOberlin Collegeaalbrigh@oberlin.eduThomas F. DeFrantzDuke Universityt.defrantz@duke.eduSociety of Dance History ScholarsDeFrantz, Thomas F.Albright, Ann Cooper
b1f02d93-e77b-e011-b81f-000c293a51f7Winston WelchExecutive DirectorUniversity of Hawai'i at Manoathewha@hawaii.eduLaura MitchellUniversity of California, Irvinemitchell@uci.eduWorld History AssociationMitchell, LauraWelch, Winston