• 2016AM_MLA

    Barbara K. Altmann and Rosemary G. Feal, representatives of the Modern Language Association

  • 2016AM_AAR

    Jack Fitzmier and David Harrington Watt, representatives of the American Academy of Religion

  • Journals

    ACLS societies foster high-quality, peer-reviewed scholarship in the humanities.

Society Representatives

Loading...

The Delegate is the member of the Council. The Administrative Officer is the society contact.

Click on column titles to sort alphabetically. 

Society NameDelegate NameAdministrative Officer
363e4d14-98a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Suzanne Moyer BaazetExecutive DirectorAfrican Studies Associationasaed@africanstudies.orgJudith A. ByfieldCornell Universityjab632@cornell.eduAfrican Studies AssociationByfield, Judith A.Baazet, Suzanne Moyer
08895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Jonathan F. FantonPresidentAmerican Academy of Arts and Sciencesjfanton@amacad.orgElaine SismanChairColumbia Universityes53@columbia.eduAmerican Academy of Arts and SciencesSisman, ElaineFanton, Jonathan F.
0b895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Jack FitzmierExecutive DirectorAmerican Academy of Religionjfitzmier@aarweb.orgDavid Harrington WattTemple Universitydwatt7@temple.eduAmerican Academy of ReligionWatt, David HarringtonFitzmier, Jack
0e895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Edward B. LiebowExecutive DirectorAmerican Anthropological Associationeliebow@aaanet.orgLeith MullingsCity University of New York, The Graduate Centerlmullings@gc.cuny.eduAmerican Anthropological AssociationMullings, LeithLiebow, Edward B.
11895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Paul J. EricksonDirector, Academic ProgramsAmerican Antiquarian Societyperickson@mwa.orgAmerican Antiquarian SocietyErickson, Paul J.
5405940b-81a3-db11-a735-000c2903e717Jodi L. KosteSecretary-TreasurerVirginia Commonwealth Universityjlkoste@vcu.eduCaroline HannawayAmerican Association for the History of Medicinechannaway@aol.comAmerican Association for the History of MedicineHannaway, CarolineKoste, Jodi L.
dd895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Douglas RichardsonExecutive DirectorAmerican Association of Geographersdrichardson@aag.orgJ. Nicholas EntrikinVice President and Associate ProvostUniversity of Notre DameJ.N.Entrikin@nd.eduAmerican Association of GeographersEntrikin, J. NicholasRichardson, Douglas
2f895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Alexander Jamieson BeecroftChief Administrative and Financial OfficerUniversity of South CarolinaABeecrof@mailbox.sc.eduYopie PrinsUniversity of Michigan-Ann Arboryprins@umich.eduAmerican Comparative Literature AssociationPrins, YopieBeecroft, Alexander Jamieson
38895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Allan MetcalfExecutive SecretaryMacMurray Collegeamericandialect@mac.eduLuanne von SchneidemesserExecutive SecretaryUniversity of Wisconsin-Madisonlvonschn@wisc.eduAmerican Dialect Societyvon Schneidemesser, LuanneMetcalf, Allan
3b895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Peter RousseauSecretary-TreasurerVanderbilt Universitypeter.l.rousseau@vanderbilt.eduCharlotte V. KuhNational Academy of SciencesCharlotteKuh@gmail.comAmerican Economic AssociationKuh, Charlotte V.Rousseau, Peter
3e895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Timothy LloydExecutive DirectorAmerican Folklore Societytimlloyd@indiana.eduLee HaringCity University of New York, Brooklyn Collegelharing@hvc.rr.comAmerican Folklore SocietyHaring, LeeLloyd, Timothy
41895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717James GrossmanExecutive DirectorAmerican Historical Associationjgrossman@historians.orgGeorge J. SanchezVice DeanUniversity of Southern Californiageorges@usc.eduAmerican Historical AssociationSanchez, George J.Grossman, James
4a895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Robert F. JuddExecutive DirectorAmerican Musicological Societyrjudd@ams-net.orgAnne Walters RobertsonUniversity of Chicagoawrx@uchicago.eduAmerican Musicological SocietyRobertson, Anne WaltersJudd, Robert F.
4d895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Ute Wartenberg KaganExecutive DirectorAmerican Numismatic Societyuwk@numismatics.orgKenneth W. HarlTulane Universitymaxthrax@cox.netAmerican Numismatic SocietyHarl, Kenneth W.Wartenberg Kagan, Ute
50895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Jonathan H. RodgersSecretary-TreasurerUniversity of Michigan-Ann Arborjrodgers@umich.eduPaul W. KrollUniversity of Colorado Boulderkroll@Colorado.EDUAmerican Oriental SocietyKroll, Paul W.Rodgers, Jonathan H.
56895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Amy FerrerExecutive DirectorAmerican Philosophical Associationaferrer@udel.eduHenry S. RichardsonGeorgetown Universityrichardh@georgetown.eduAmerican Philosophical AssociationRichardson, Henry S.Ferrer, Amy
59895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Keith Stewart ThomsonExecutive DirectorAmerican Philosophical Societykthomson@amphilsoc.orgJulia Haig GaisserBryn Mawr Collegejgaisser@brynmawr.eduAmerican Philosophical SocietyGaisser, Julia HaigThomson, Keith Stewart
5c895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Steven Rathgeb SmithExecutive DirectorAmerican Political Science Associationsmithsr@apsanet.orgRogers M. SmithUniversity of Pennsylvaniarogerss@sas.upenn.eduAmerican Political Science AssociationSmith, Rogers M.Smith, Steven Rathgeb
5c895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Steven Rathgeb SmithExecutive DirectorAmerican Political Science Associationsmithsr@apsanet.orgRichard BoydGeorgetown Universityrb352@georgetown.eduAmerican Political Science AssociationBoyd, RichardSmith, Steven Rathgeb
65895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Andrew G. VaughnExecutive DirectorAmerican Schools of Oriental Researchasored@bu.eduSusan AckermanDartmouth Collegesusan.ackerman@dartmouth.eduAmerican Schools of Oriental ResearchAckerman, SusanVaughn, Andrew G.
68895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Julie C. Van CampExecutive DirectorAmerican Society for Aestheticssecretary-treasurer@aesthetics-online.orgDominic McIver LopesUniversity of British Columbiadom.lopes@ubc.caAmerican Society for AestheticsLopes, Dominic McIverVan Camp, Julie C.
6b895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Byron WellsExecutive DirectorWake Forest Universityasecs@wfu.eduJohn B. BenderStanford Universitybender@stanford.eduAmerican Society for Eighteenth-Century StudiesBender, John B.Wells, Byron
563a7c1e-81a3-db11-a735-000c2903e717Lisa MighettoExecutive DirectorAmerican Society for Environmental Historydirector@aseh.netJohn R. McNeillGeorgetown Universitymcneillj@georgetown.eduAmerican Society for Environmental HistoryMcNeill, John R.Mighetto, Lisa
6e895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Craig KlafterTreasurerAmerican Society for Legal Historytreasurer@aslh.netConstance BackhouseUniversity of Ottawaconstance.backhouse@uottawa.caAmerican Society for Legal HistoryBackhouse, ConstanceKlafter, Craig
71895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Eric EwaldExecutive DirectorAmerican Society for Theatre Researcherice@astr.orgPatrick AndersonUniversity of California, San Diegopwa@ucsd.eduAmerican Society for Theatre ResearchAnderson, PatrickEwald, Eric
4a0e4af8-80a3-db11-a735-000c2903e717Keith A. FrancisExecutive SecretaryAmerican Society of Church Historykeith.francis@churchhistory.orgCharles H. LippyUniversity of Tennessee at Chattanoogacharles-lippy@utc.eduAmerican Society of Church HistoryLippy, Charles H.Francis, Keith A.
74895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717James A.R. NafzigerChief Administrative OfficerWillamette Universityjnafzige@willamette.eduVivian CurranUniversity of Pittsburghvcurran@pitt.eduAmerican Society of Comparative LawCurran, VivianNafziger, James A.R.
77895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Mark D. AgrastExecutive DirectorAmerican Society of International Lawmagrast@asil.orgGregory C. ShafferUniversity of California, Irvinegshaffer@law.uci.eduAmerican Society of International LawShaffer, Gregory C.Agrast, Mark D.
7a895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Elizabeth HigginbothamUniversity of Delawareehiggin@udel.eduAmerican Sociological AssociationHigginbotham, Elizabeth
7d895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717John F. StephensExecutive DirectorAmerican Studies AssociationJohn.Stephens@theasa.netKandice ChuhCity University of New York, The Graduate Centerkchuh@gc.cuny.eduAmerican Studies AssociationChuh, KandiceStephens, John F.
a7895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Ann BenbowExecutive DirectorArchaeological Institute of Americaabenbow@aia.bu.eduJ. Theodore PenaUniversity of California, Berkeleytpena@berkeley.eduArchaeological Institute of AmericaPena, J. TheodoreBenbow, Ann
ce895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Michael PaschalExecutive DirectorAssociation for Asian Studiesmpaschal@asian-studies.orgAnand A. YangDirectorUniversity of Washingtonaay@u.washington.eduAssociation for Asian StudiesYang, Anand A.Paschal, Michael
d4895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Rona SheramyExecutive DirectorAssociation for Jewish Studiesrsheramy@ajs.cjh.orgCarol BakhosUniversity of California, Los Angelescbakhos@humnet.ucla.eduAssociation for Jewish StudiesBakhos, CarolSheramy, Rona
1a895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Lynda ParkExecutive DirectorAssociation for Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studieslypark@pitt.eduKatherine VerderyCity University of New York, The Graduate CenterKVerdery@gc.cuny.eduAssociation for Slavic, East European, and Eurasian StudiesVerdery, KatherinePark, Lynda
d7895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Olavi ArensAcademic Executive DirectorArmstrong Atlantic State UniversityOlavi.Arens@armstrong.eduMara LazdaCity University of New York, Bronx Community Collegemara.lazda@bcc.cuny.eduAssociation for the Advancement of Baltic StudiesLazda, MaraArens, Olavi
e0895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Judith AreenExecutive DirectorAssociation of American Law Schoolsjareen@aals.orgLinda S. GreeneUniversity of Wisconsin-Madisonlsgreene@wisc.eduAssociation of American Law SchoolsGreene, Linda S.Areen, Judith
7f8a5c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Michele E. RandallExecutive DirectorBibliographical Society of Americabibliographicalsociety@gmail.comDavid L. Vander MeulenUniversity of Virginiadlv8g@virginia.eduBibliographical Society of AmericaVander Meulen, David L.Randall, Michele E.
5539555d-8673-db11-a735-000c2903e717Hunter O'HanianExecutive DirectorCollege Art Associationhohanian@collegeart.orgAnne Collins GoodyearBowdoin Collegeagoodyear@bowdoin.eduCollege Art AssociationGoodyear, Anne CollinsO'Hanian, Hunter
16a44f5c-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Emily KirkpatrickExecutive DirectorCollege Forum of the National Council of Teachers of Englishekirkpatrick@ncte.orgDoug HesseUniversity of Denverdhesse@du.eduCollege Forum of the National Council of Teachers of EnglishHesse, DougKirkpatrick, Emily
c1a44f5c-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Rebecca ShapiroExecutive SecretaryCity University of New York, New York City College of Technologyrshapiro@citytech.cuny.eduEdward FineganUniversity of Southern CaliforniaFinegan@USC.eduDictionary Society of North AmericaFinegan, EdwardShapiro, Rebecca
06a54f5c-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Price FishbackExecutive DirectorUniversity of Arizonapfishback@eller.arizona.eduDaniel RaffUniversity of Pennsylvaniaraff@wharton.upenn.eduEconomic History AssociationRaff, DanielFishback, Price
dba54f5c-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717David E. BarclayExecutive DirectorKalamazoo Collegedirector@thegsa.orgPatricia A. HerminghouseUniversity of Rochesterpahe@rochester.rr.comGerman Studies AssociationHerminghouse, Patricia A.Barclay, David E.
65a64f5c-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Mitchell A. CoddingDirectorHispanic Society of Americacodding@hispanicsociety.orgHispanic Society of AmericaCodding, Mitchell A.
6ba64f5c-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Robert (Jay) J. MaloneExecutive DirectorHistory of Science Societyjay@hssonline.orgMichael M. SokalWorcester Polytechnic Institutemsokal@wpi.eduHistory of Science SocietySokal, Michael M.Malone, Robert (Jay) J.
82b30aff-80a3-db11-a735-000c2903e717Nancy Patterson SevcenkoPresidentIndependent Scholarnsevcenko8@gmail.comLawrence NeesUniversity of Delawarenees@udel.eduInternational Center of Medieval ArtNees, LawrenceSevcenko, Nancy Patterson
37014862-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Milagros Pereyra-RojasExecutive DirectorUniversity of Pittsburghmilagros@pitt.eduGwen KirkpatrickDirector of Graduate StudiesGeorgetown Universitymgk7@georgetown.eduLatin American Studies AssociationKirkpatrick, GwenPereyra-Rojas, Milagros
40014862-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Susan OlsonExecutive OfficerUniversity of Utaholson@lawandsociety.orgCarol J. GreenhouseChairPrinceton Universitycgreenho@princeton.eduLaw and Society AssociationGreenhouse, Carol J.Olson, Susan
67014862-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Alyson ReedExecutive DirectorLinguistic Society of Americaareed@lsadc.orgSandra ChungUniversity of California, Santa Cruzschung@ucsc.eduLinguistic Society of AmericaChung, SandraReed, Alyson
09024862-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Lisa Fagin DavisExecutive DirectorMedieval Academy of Americalfd@themedievalacademy.orgNancy PartnerMcGill Universitynancy.partner@mcgill.caMedieval Academy of AmericaPartner, NancyDavis, Lisa Fagin
2d024862-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717George R. LucasSecretary-TreasurerNaval Postgraduate Schoolsecretary@metaphysicalsociety.orgRichard Dien WinfieldUniversity of Georgiawinfield@uga.eduMetaphysical Society of AmericaWinfield, Richard DienLucas, George R.
4e024862-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Amy NewhallExecutive DirectorMiddle East Studies Association of North Americanewhall@u.arizona.eduR. Stephen HumphreysUniversity of California, Santa Barbarahumphreys@history.ucsb.eduMiddle East Studies Association of North AmericaHumphreys, R. StephenNewhall, Amy
81024862-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Rosemary G. FealExecutive DirectorModern Language Association of Americarfeal@mla.orgBarbara K. AltmannProvostBucknell Universitybarbara.altmann@bucknell.eduModern Language Association of AmericaAltmann, Barbara K.Feal, Rosemary G.
05034862-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Trevor Parry-GilesInterim Executive DirectorNational Communication Associationtparrygiles@natcom.orgKristine MunozUniversity of Iowakristine-fitch@uiowa.eduNational Communication AssociationMunoz, KristineParry-Giles, Trevor
5705940b-81a3-db11-a735-000c2903e717Robert R. WeyenethUniversity of South Carolinaweyeneth@sc.eduNational Council on Public HistoryWeyeneth, Robert R.
ef4ab5cb-ee16-dc11-9d54-000c2903e717Paul R. DeslandesExecutive SecretaryUniversity of Vermontpaul.deslandes@uvm.eduSusan D. PennybackerUniversity of North Carolina at Chapel Hillpennybac@email.unc.eduNorth American Conference on British StudiesPennybacker, Susan D.Deslandes, Paul R.
b157ec10-b4da-e311-9bec-000c29a3451aKristine Navarro-McElhaneyInterim Executive DirectorArizona State Universityknavarr5@asu.eduAnne M. ValkAssociate Director for Public HumanitiesWilliams CollegeAnne.Valk@williams.eduOral History AssociationValk, Anne M.Navarro-McElhaney, Kristine
ca5d4068-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Katherine M. FinleyExecutive DirectorOrganization of American Historianskmfinley@oah.orgJohn StaufferHarvard Universitystauffer@fas.harvard.eduOrganization of American HistoriansStauffer, JohnFinley, Katherine M.
845e4068-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Carla ZecherExecutive DirectorRenaissance Society of Americaczecher@rsa.orgJames S. GrubbUniversity of Maryland, Baltimore Countygrubb@umbc.eduRenaissance Society of AmericaGrubb, James S.Zecher, Carla
a08a031b-3c28-dd11-b38e-000c2903e717Gerard A. HauserExecutive DirectorRhetoric Society of Americahauserg@colorado.eduSusan WellsTemple Universitysuewells@temple.eduRhetoric Society of AmericaWells, SusanHauser, Gerard A.
c27aa8e1-a8f9-e411-9417-000c29879dd6Lena Cowen OrlinExecutive DirectorShakespeare Association of Americashakespeare@georgetown.eduShakespeare Association of AmericaOrlin, Lena Cowen
d07233a5-7fa3-db11-a735-000c2903e717Donald J. HarreldExecutive DirectorBrigham Young Universitydonald_harreld@byu.eduKathryn EdwardsUniversity of South Carolinakathrynedwards@sc.eduSixteenth Century Society and ConferenceEdwards, KathrynHarreld, Donald J.
b95f4068-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Mariana WhitmerExecutive DirectorSociety for American Musicmariana.whitmer@pitt.eduCarol J. OjaHarvard Universitycoja@fas.harvard.eduSociety for American MusicOja, Carol J.Whitmer, Mariana
bc5f4068-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Jill SimpsonExecutive DirectorSociety for Cinema and Media Studiesjillasimpson@ou.eduPamela Robertson WojcikUniversity of Notre Damepamela.wojcik.5@nd.eduSociety for Cinema and Media StudiesWojcik, Pamela RobertsonSimpson, Jill
53895c50-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Helen CullyerSociety for Classical Studieshelen.cullyer@nyu.eduRuth ScodelUniversity of Michigan-Ann Arborrscodel@umich.eduSociety for Classical StudiesScodel, RuthCullyer, Helen
a31b3b6e-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Stephen StuempfleExecutive DirectorSociety for Ethnomusicologysemexec@indiana.eduAnne K. RasmussenCollege of William & Maryakrasm@wm.eduSociety for EthnomusicologyRasmussen, Anne K.Stuempfle, Stephen
a61b3b6e-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Steven M. ZdatnyExecutive DirectorUniversity of VermontSteven.Zdatny@uvm.eduLynn SharpWhitman Collegesharpll@whitman.eduSociety for French Historical StudiesSharp, LynnZdatny, Steven M.
820aee76-d65d-df11-bc5e-000c293a51f7Robert H. BerlinExecutive DirectorSociety for Military Historyrhberlin@aol.comGregory J. W. UrwinTemple Universitygregoryurwin@comcast.netSociety for Military HistoryUrwin, Gregory J. W.Berlin, Robert H.
85b30aff-80a3-db11-a735-000c2903e717Victoria L. LongExecutive DirectorSociety for Music Theoryvlong@uchicago.eduEdward JurkowskiAssociate DeanUniversity of Lethbridgejurkowski@uleth.caSociety for Music TheoryJurkowski, EdwardLong, Victoria L.
bbf41a18-81a3-db11-a735-000c2903e717Clydette WantlandExecutive DirectorSociety for the Advancement of Scandinavian Studyclwantl@msn.comMargaret Hayford O'LearySt. Olaf Collegeoleary@stolaf.eduSociety for the Advancement of Scandinavian StudyO'Leary, Margaret HayfordWantland, Clydette
24344725-0e16-e611-9436-000c29879dd6Eleanor ShevlinMembership SecretaryWest Chester UniversityEShevlin@wcupa.eduSociety for the History of Authorship, Reading and PublishingShevlin, Eleanor
a91b3b6e-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717David LucskoSecretarySociety for the History of Technologydnl0006@auburn.eduW. Bernard CarlsonUniversity of Virginiawc4p@Virginia.EDUSociety for the History of TechnologyCarlson, W. BernardLucsko, David
af1b3b6e-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Pauline SaligaExecutive DirectorSociety of Architectural Historianspsaliga@sah.orgSandy IsenstadtDirector of Graduate StudiesUniversity of Delawareisnt@udel.eduSociety of Architectural HistoriansIsenstadt, SandySaliga, Pauline
b21b3b6e-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717John F. KutskoExecutive DirectorSociety of Biblical Literaturejohn.kutsko@sbl-site.orgJacques BerlinerblauGeorgetown Universityjdb75@georgetown.eduSociety of Biblical LiteratureBerlinerblau, JacquesKutsko, John F.
b51b3b6e-c9a2-db11-a735-000c2903e717Ann Cooper AlbrightExecutive DirectorOberlin Collegeaalbrigh@oberlin.eduNadine George-GravesUniversity of California, San Diegongeorge@ucsd.eduSociety of Dance History ScholarsGeorge-Graves, NadineAlbright, Ann Cooper
b1f02d93-e77b-e011-b81f-000c293a51f7Kerry VieiraExecutive DirectorNortheastern Universityk.vieira@neu.eduLaura MitchellUniversity of California, Irvinemitchell@uci.eduWorld History AssociationMitchell, LauraVieira, Kerry