• AM2018-Mattie

    Mattie Burkert, a Mellon/ACLS Dissertation Completion Fellow, presented her research at the 2018 ACLS Annual Meeting.

  • AHPMeritKagugo

    African Humanities Program Fellow Merit Kabugo studies the discourse of rural farmers. 

  • Buddha

    The Robert H. N. Ho Family Foundation Program in Buddhist Studies is a global competition. 

Andrew W. Mellon Foundation/ACLS Early Career Fellowships

Mellon/ACLS Recent Doctoral Recipients Fellowships



Fellowship Details

  • Stipend: $35,000
  • Tenure: one year beginning between June and September (for either the 2010-2011 or 2011-2012 academic year)
  • Completed applications must be submitted through the ACLS Online Fellowship Application system (ofa.acls.org) no later than 9 p.m. Eastern Standard Time, December 9, 2009.
  • Notifications will be sent in late March 2010.

ACLS invites applications for the third annual competition for the Mellon/ACLS Recent Doctoral Recipients Fellowships. This is the second stage of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation/ACLS Early Career Fellowship Program, which provides support for young scholars. The first part of this program—the Mellon/ACLS Dissertation Completion Fellowships—makes possible a year of supported research and writing, to help students complete their dissertation. The second part of the program provides support for a year following the completion of the doctorate for scholars to advance their research. A grant from The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation supports this program.

Mellon/ACLS Recent Doctoral Recipients Fellowships are to assist young scholars in the humanities and related social sciences (1) in the first or second year following completion of the Ph.D. This program aims to assist recent doctoral recipients to position themselves for further scholarly advancement and is available to young scholars whether or not they hold academic positions.

Eligibility for these Fellowships will be limited to scholars awarded Mellon/ACLS Dissertation Completion Fellowships in the prior year’s competition, the Alternates selected in that competition, and those awarded other dissertation fellowships of national stature (such as the Whiting Fellowship) that require applicants to complete their dissertations within a specified period. To be eligible, all applicants must file or deposit their dissertations no later than August 31, 2010.

ACLS will award 25 Fellowships in this competition for a one-year term beginning between June and September 2010 for the 2010-2011 academic year, or between June and September 2011 for the 2011-2012 academic year. The Fellowships are portable: research may be carried out in residence at the Fellow's home institution or at another appropriate site. Unlike a typical postdoctoral fellowship in the humanities, where teaching is usually part of a fellow's responsibilities, the Mellon/ACLS awards are designed for research and writing; accordingly, Fellows may not teach during the tenure of the Fellowship.

The Fellowships provide a stipend of $35,000 to allow the Fellow to devote an academic year to research. The Mellon/ACLS Recent Doctoral Recipients Fellowships may not be held concurrently with any other fellowship or grant.

Awardees may take up the Fellowship during the two years following the date of the award. Those awardees with faculty positions may use their Fellowship to take research leave; those without a full-time position may choose to affiliate with a humanities research center or conduct research independently. Thanks to partnerships with the Consortium of Humanities Centers & Institutes (CHCI) and the Council of American Overseas Research Centers (CAORC), ACLS hosts a clearinghouse to help bring together Recent Doctoral Recipient Fellows with interested residential humanities centers, institutes, and libraries suitable for their research interests and needs. (See list of participating residential centers.)


  • Applicants for this program must be scholars who (for 2009-2010) have been:
  1. awarded Mellon/ACLS Dissertation Completion Fellowships, or
  2. designated Alternates in the Mellon/ACLS Dissertation Completion Fellowship program, or
  3. awarded dissertation completion fellowships in another competitive program of national stature (2).
  • Applicants must be in the final year of dissertation completion at the time of application. Those who have completed the dissertation are not eligible.
  • Applicants for this program must be Ph.D. candidates in a humanities or social science department in the United States. Applicants from other departments may be eligible if their project is in the humanities or related social sciences, and their principal dissertation advisor holds an appointment in a humanities or related social science field. (Students completing master’s degrees are not eligible, even if they are the terminal degree in the field.)
  • The applicant's dissertation must be filed or deposited no later than August 31, 2010.
  • Awardees may hold this Fellowship only after completing their doctoral degree.

Application Requirements

Applications must be submitted online and must include:

  • Completed application form, including a statement of all university and external support received during graduate study: fellowships, teaching or research assistantships, tuition grants, and summer support
  • Proposal including timeline for the proposed fellowship-year project (no more than five pages, double spaced, in Times New Roman 11-point font)
  • Up to three additional pages of images, musical scores, or other similar supporting non-text materials [optional]
  • Bibliography (no more than two pages)
  • Completed chapter of the dissertation (that is neither the introduction, nor the conclusion, nor the literature review) of not more than 25 double-spaced pages in Times New Roman 11-point font, or a representative 25-page excerpt from a longer chapter. The chapter must be in English, though citations may be in other languages (with translations provided).
  • A copy of the proposal for the dissertation completion fellowship you currently hold. (Alternates for the Mellon/ACLS Dissertation Completion Fellowship should upload a copy of the proposal submitted for that fellowship.)
  • Two reference letters
  • A letter from the applicant’s institution (preferably from the applicant’s department chair), attesting to the viability of the proposed timeline for completion of the dissertation

  1. Appropriate fields of specialization include but are not limited to: American studies; anthropology; archaeology; art and architectural history; classics; economics; film; geography; history; languages and literatures; legal studies; linguistics; musicology; philosophy; political science; psychology; religious studies; rhetoric, communication, and media studies; sociology; and theater, dance, and performance studies. Proposals in the social science fields listed above are eligible only if they employ predominantly humanistic approaches (e.g., economic history, law and literature, political theory). Proposals in interdisciplinary and cross-disciplinary studies are welcome, as are proposals focused on any geographic region or on any cultural or linguistic group. Back to text.
  2. Examples include the Whiting, AAUW, and Newcombe Fellowships. Back to text.


Related Links

The deadline for this competition has passed.

2010 Mellon/ACLS Recent Doctoral Recipients Fellows