• PY_with_logo

    See the collection of talks by ACLS President Pauline Yu. 

  • Bulletin

    The first ACLS Bulletin appeared in October 1920, one year after the organization's founding.

  • darwin

    The Darwin Correspondence Project was founded by the late Frederick H. Burkhardt, president emeritus of ACLS. 

ACLS Annual Meeting


2017 ACLS Annual Meeting
May 11-13
Baltimore, MD

The 2017 ACLS Annual Meeting will begin the evening of Thursday, May 11, with welcome remarks from ACLS President Pauline Yu, followed by a session entitled “Who Speaks, Who Listens: The Academy and the Community, Memory and Justice.”  A reception and buffet dinner will be offered afterwards.

On Friday, Pauline Yu will start off with her Report to the Council. There will be micro reports from ACLS member societies, the Meeting of the Council, and presentations by ACLS fellows.  Freeman Hrabowski, president of the University of Maryland, Baltimore County, will be the luncheon speaker.

The afternoon program will consist of two events: a conversation between Pauline Yu and Earl Lewis, president of The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, which will be followed by breakout sessions on the following topics: (1) digital preservation, (2) labor in the academic workforce, (3) conference and community, (4) evaluating public scholarship, and (5) innovations in humanities curriculum.

At 6:00 pm, the 2017 Charles Homer Haskins Prize Lecture will be delivered by Harry G. Frankfurt, professor emeritus of philosophy, Princeton University.  There will be an opportunity to speak with Professor Frankfurt at the reception in his honor immediately afterwards. (The lecture and reception will take place in the hotel.) 

The Conference of Executive Officers convenes on Saturday from 8:30 am-12:30 pm.

Hotel Information: Baltimore Marriott Waterfront Hotel, 700 Aliceanna Street, Baltimore, MD 21202; Tel: (410) 385-3000  


Thursday, May 11
ACLS Board of Directors Executive Committee Meeting
(members of this group only) - 12 noon - 1:30 pm, Boardroom
ACLS Board of Directors Meeting (members of this group only) - 2:00-5:00 pm, Kent ABC

Who Speaks, Who Listens: The Academy and the Community, Memory and Justice - 5:45-7:00 pm, Harborside Ballroom Salon AB
Reception -7:00-7:30 pm, Salon Foyer
Buffet Supper -7:30-9:30 pm, Harborside Ballroom Salon C

Friday, May 12
Executive Committee of the Delegates Breakfast Meeting (members of this group only) -7:45-8:45 am, Boardroom
Continental Breakfast -7:45-9:00 am, Ballroom Foyer

Report of the President -
Pauline Yu - 9:00-9:30 am, Salon AB
Micro Reports from Five Member Societies - 9:30-9:45 am
Meeting of the Council - 9:45-10:30 am
Coffee Break - 10:30-10:45 am
Emerging Themes and Methods of Humanities Research: Discussion with ACLS Fellows -10:45 am-12:00 noon

Pre-Lunch Reception -12:00 noon-12:30 pm, Ballroom Foyer
Luncheon Speaker -Freeman Hrabowski, president, University of Maryland, Baltimore County - 2:30-2:00 pm, Salon 1-3

Conversation with Earl Lewis, president, The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation - 2:00-3:00 pm, Salon AB

Breakout Sessions -3:00-4:00 pm
1) The Digital Dark Age: What Is Happening To All That Work? - Essex
2) Evaluating Public Scholarship - Falkland
3) Labor in the Academic Workforce - Heron
4) Innovations in Humanities Curriculum - Iron
5) The Annual Conference and the Community - James

ACLS Board of Directors Annual Meeting Review (members of this group only) 4:00-4:30 pm, Boardroom 

The Charles Homer Haskins Prize Lecture - 6:00-7:00 pm, Salon AB
Harry G. Frankfurt, Professor Emeritus of Philosophy, Princeton University
Reception and Buffet Supper -7:00-9:30 pm, Salon C

Saturday, May 13
Breakfast -7:30-9:30 am, Salon B
Conference of Executive Officers (CEO) Spring Meeting (members of this group only) - 8:30-11:30 am, Essex ABC
Optional CEO Session - Legal Issues Review - Stephen Shaefer, Whiteford, Taylor & Preston, L.L.P. (members of this group only)- 11:30 am-12:15 pm, Heron

You can find information on past annual meetings here.


Related Links

Click here to register for the meeting.

Click here to make hotel reservations.

Baltimore Marriott Waterfront Hotel
700 Aliceanna Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
Tel: (410) 385-3000


2018, April 26-28
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel
Philadelphia, PA

2019, April 25-27
New York Marriott Downtown Hotel
New York, NY

Select annual meeting sessions are available in our media collection.

Past meetings